Download Tara

Version history

Tara has been developed for quite some time now. See the ChangeLog for details or try out the older versions.


Tara is open source software, licensed under the AGPL3+.

Install Tara


Installing and running Tara requires a bunch of other tools:

Running requires:
Compiling requires:
Testing requires:
  • Autotools test suite - Part of the GNU Auto-Tools for automated Tests
  • LCOV - LCOV is a graphical front-end for GCC's coverage testing tool gcov. It collects gcov data for multiple source files and creates HTML pages containing the source code annotated with coverage information.
  • Valgrind - Valgrind is an instrumentation framework for building dynamic analysis tools. There are Valgrind tools that can automatically detect many memory management and threading bugs, and profile your programs in detail.
Contributing requires:
  • Bison - Gnu parser generator - Bison is a general-purpose parser generator that converts an annotated context-free grammar into a deterministic LR or generalized LR (GLR) parser employing LALR(1) parser tables.
  • GNU Gengetopt - Gengetopt generates a C function that uses getopt_long function to parse the command line options, to validate them and fills a struct .
  • flex: The Fast Lexical Analyzer - Flex is a tool for generating scanners. A scanner, sometimes called a tokenizer, is a program which recognizes lexical patterns in text. The flex program reads user-specified input files, or its standard input if no file names are given, for a description of a scanner to generate.

Quick install

Extract the tar ball into a folder of your choice, and follow the steps below.

  1. Configure
  2. Compile
  3. Test (optional, but recommended)
    make check
  4. Install
    sudo make install


The current maintainer of Tara is Jan Sürmeli.


Jan Sürmeli developed the core algorithms in Tara. and Marvin Triebel implemented Tara and provided optimizations for the core algorithms.


Several people have committed time, code, and advice to the development of Wendy.

  • Jan Sürmeli (26 commits)
  • Marvin Triebel (21 commits)
  • Niels Lohmann (7 commits)